Skip Navigation
Back to Navigation

The Law Society is governed by a board of directors, who are referred to as benchers. The board includes elected lawyer and paralegal benchers, appointed benchers and ex officio and honorary benchers.




Elected Benchers


Appointed Benchers


Ex officio Benchers

The Hon. Doug Downey, MPP
Bob Aaron
The Hon. Robert P. Armstrong, Q.C.
Larry Banack
Christopher Bentley
Michael J. Bryant
Paul Copeland, C.M., LSM
Abraham Feinstein, Q.C., LSM
The Hon. Lee K. Ferrier, Q.C.
Patrick Garret Furlong, Q.C., LSM
Gary Lloyd Gottlieb, Q.C.
The Hon. John D. Ground, Q.C.
Howard G. Hampton
Charles A. Harnick, Q.C., LSM
George D. Hunter
Vern Krishna, C.M., Q.C., FRSC, LSM
Ronald D. Manes
The Hon. R. Roy McMurtry, O.C., O.Ont., Q.C., LSM
W. A. Derry Millar, LSM
Ross W. Murray, Q.C.
Alan W. Pope, Q.C.
Julian Porter, Q.C., LL.D.
Judith M. Potter
The Hon. Allan Rock, P.C., Q.C.
Clayton Ruby, C.M., LL.D.
The Hon. James M. Spence, Q.C., LL.D.
Norman W. Sterling, Q.C.
Harvey T. Strosberg, Q.C., LSM
Gerald A. Swaye, Q.C.
J. James Wardlaw, Q.C., LSM
Bradley H. Wright
David S. Young


Emeritus Treasurers

Thomas G. Conway, LL.D.
Janet E. Minor, LL.D.
Laurie H. Pawlitza, LL.D.


Honorary Bencher

His Royal Highness Prince Charles, The Prince of Wales


Committee Chairs

Access to Justice — Cathy Corsetti and Doug Wellman
Audit & Finance — Joseph P. Groia
Compensation Fund — Lubomir Poliacik
Equity and Indigenous Affairs — Dianne G. Corbiere
Government and Public Affairs — Teresa Donnelly
Litigation — Teresa Donnelly
Paralegal Standing — Robert J. Burd
Priority Planning — Teresa Donnelly
Professional Development and Competence — Barbara Murchie
Professional Regulation — Megan Shortreed
Tribunal — Julia Shin Doi


Board Membership Changes


May 22 —    Gina Papageorgiou was appointed a judge of the Superior Court of Justice of Ontario.
May 28 —    Barbara Murchie was elected a bencher to fill the resulting vacancy.
June 26 —  Teresa Donnelly was elected Treasurer and became an ex officio bencher.
June 26 —   Michael B. Lesage was elected a bencher in the Outside Toronto region to fill the resulting vacancy upon Ms. Donnelly’s election as Treasurer.


Feb. 18 —   Cathy Banning joined the board as an appointed bencher.

Terms or Concepts Explained