Skip Navigation
Back to Navigation
Home Featured Stories Announcing the new Certified Specialist Program in taxation law

Announcing the new Certified Specialist Program in taxation law

June 18, 2019

The Law Society of Ontario has launched its new Certified Specialist Program (CSP) in taxation law. The CSP recognizes lawyers who have met established standards of experience and knowledge in one or more designated areas of law and who have maintained exemplary standards of professional practice.

To be eligible for certification as a taxation law specialist, lawyers must have been licensed to practise for a minimum of seven years prior to the date of the application—with five of those years devoted to taxation law. In addition, lawyers must meet professional development requirements, provide references, and comply with certain professional standards.

The taxation law specialist program recognizes four categories of taxation law that are used as routes to certification, each one with its own set of required experience, knowledge, and skills:

  1. Business Transactions
  2. Private Clients
  3. GST/HST and Sales Taxation
  4. Litigation

The CSP now has 17 areas of specialization, including the taxation law specialty and the Indigenous legal issues specialty, which was launched in 2016.

Certified Specialists are recognized as leaders in their field and are the only lawyers who may advertise themselves as “specialists” in a particular field of law in their marketing materials.

To learn more about the CSP, visit our website or contact us at

Terms or Concepts Explained
Navigating the Licensing Process
Your Source 2