Back to Navigation
Home News & Events Latest News Latest News: 2020 Law Society Awards 2020: Recognizing Excellence

Law Society Awards 2020: Recognizing Excellence

December 03, 2020

TORONTO, ON — The recipients of the Law Society Awards 2020 will be honoured at a virtual reception, hosted by Treasurer Teresa Donnelly.

The following members of Ontario's legal professions will be recognized for their exceptional career achievements and contributions to their communities.

Law Society Medal

  • Professor Jeff Berryman
  • Marie Chen
  • Dr. Ron Ellis (PhD Law) 
  • Arleen Huggins
  • Gilbert Labine
  • Colonel (Ret’d) Vihar Joshi, OMM, MSM, CD, QC
  • Heather Joy Ross, LLB
  • Dr. Dianne Saxe (PhD Law)
  • Donald V. Thomson

Lincoln Alexander Award
John E. Valeriote

Laura Legge Award
Jacqueline Lewis

J. Shirley Denison Award
Mary Birdsell

William J. Simpson Distinguished Paralegal Award
Michelle L. Haigh

Virtual Event Details
Date: December 8, 2020
Time: 5:30 p.m.
The event can be accessed via this link, available that evening.

Media representatives, please confirm your attendance in advance with the media contact below.

The Law Society regulates lawyers and paralegals in Ontario in the public interest. The Law Society has a mandate to protect the public interest, to maintain and advance the cause of justice and the rule of law, to facilitate access to justice for the people of Ontario and act in a timely, open and efficient manner.


Media contact: Jennifer Wing, Senior Communications Advisor, External Relations and Communications, Follow us on LinkedIn, Instagram, Twitter and Facebook.

Terms or Concepts Explained